floorrefa.blogg.se

Winter squash
Winter squash












  1. #WINTER SQUASH SKIN#
  2. #WINTER SQUASH FREE#

Top squash pasta with sage leaves and bread crumbs fried in brown butter.īake squash in a savory bread pudding. Drizzle a mix of miso, sake and sesame oil over the top.īoil squash with pasta in salted water, then drain together and combine with reserved pasta water, sautéed shallots and garlic. Peel and thinly slice kabocha squash, then simmer and steam in sake until cooked through. Squash is endlessly versatile, and I love that it can usually keep in any cool, dark corner of the kitchen for, well, however long it takes me to get around to cooking it. I always look forward to winter squash like butternut, delicata, acorn and starchy kabocha (my favorite!), with their floral, melonlike aromas and range of satisfying textures. But it’s even better folded into hot rice. That purée, made from just three ingredients, is unbelievably luxurious and delicious, even on its own. To make a simpler version of her dish at home, I cook rice in a bit more water than usual, then mix plain roasted squash, browned butter and a glug of half-and-half in a blender. I’d fallen in love with it at her restaurant Porridge + Puffs, where she served the soft, comforting rice - somewhere between risotto and congee - under little dabs of savory jams, herbs and colorful, translucent, homemade pickles. Serve it with a bowl of miso soup and steamed rice, crispy sesame tofu, or whatever protein you like.One of the first dishes I learned to make when I moved to Los Angeles a few years ago was Minh Phan’s rice porridge with squash and brown butter. Together, they create a simple side dish with a delicious mix of sweet, nutty, and savory flavors. If I happen to have some on hand, I also add microgreens for a colorful finishing touch. My favorite way to eat roasted kabocha squash is with sprinkles of sesame seeds, sliced scallions, and sesame ginger dressing. Roasted Kabocha Squash Serving Suggestions I use about 2 tablespoons for one medium kabocha squash. To prevent these squash from becoming too dry in the oven, make sure to coat them generously with oil. Some are super-soft and creamy, sort of like a baked sweet potato, while others are a bit more dry and chalky.

  • Don’t skimp on the oil. When roasted, different kabocha squash can vary in texture.
  • Roast at 300☏ for 35-45 minutes, stirring halfway, until golden brown and crisp. After you remove the seeds from the squash, pull off any orange, stringy flesh, rinse and dry the seeds, and toss them with a bit of olive oil and sea salt. When roasted, they’re a delicious, protein-rich appetizer or snack.
  • Save the seeds! Like pumpkin seeds, kabocha squash seeds are entirely edible.
  • Transfer to a 425☏ oven and roast the squash until it’s tender and golden brown, flipping halfway. Spread them in an even layer on a parchment-lined baking sheet and toss with generous drizzles of olive oil, salt, and pepper.

    winter squash

    Then, cut the seeded halves into 1 1/2-inch wedges. This pre-bake makes it so much easier (and safer!) to slice.Īfter you pre-bake the squash, use a sharp knife to slice it in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. Instead of attempting to slice it raw, I pop the whole, unpeeled squash in the oven for 10 minutes. I also have a trick to make the squash easier to cut.

    winter squash

    #WINTER SQUASH FREE#

    If your squash is particularly nubbly, you may want to trim away any brown, dry spots, but feel free to leave on the orange or green skin.

    #WINTER SQUASH SKIN#

    It’s not my favorite thing to do either! I do have good news, though: there’s no need to peel kabocha squash, as the skin is entirely edible.

    winter squash winter squash

    If you’re not a fan of chopping and peeling winter squash, I don’t blame you. Earlier this fall, I started topping it with sesame seeds, scallions, and my sesame ginger dressing to make a composed side dish, and I’m still obsessed with the combination. It’s so simple to prepare, and it has such a rich flavor. Previously, I’ve blended it into pasta sauce and simmered it into soup.īut it wasn’t until I tried Josh’s Thanksgiving side dish that I really fell in love with roasted kabocha squash. In Korea, it’s cooked into porridge and mashed into salad. In Japanese cooking, it’s often simmered in a flavorful dashi stock to make Kabocha no Nimonoor fried and served as part of vegetable tempura. “I just roasted it,” he said.Īlso known as Japanese pumpkin, kabocha squash is a wonderfully versatile winter squash variety. When it came out of the oven, the dense, bright orange flesh was smooth and creamy, with a sweet, nutty, and caramelized flavor. He cut it into wedges and cooked it with the skin still on. Last fall, my brother-in-law, Josh, made the most amazing roasted kabocha squash for Thanksgiving.














    Winter squash